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Office:  404-656-4200                  7 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Suite 347, Atlanta, Georgia 30334                 Fax:  404-656-5200 
 

 
Via Hand Delivery and Email 
Hon. James Whitfield, President 
Council of Juvenile Court Judges 
State of Georgia 
 
RE: Recommendations regarding children missing from foster care 
 
Dear Judge Whitfield: 
 
Following a recent review of children who have run away after being placed in foster 
care, our office would respectfully recommend some standard procedures that juvenile 
courts can take to ensure these children are not in severe danger.  While some of our 
youth who run from foster care simply run to a relative or friend who will not exploit 
them, I am especially concerned about those who run directly into extreme danger. 
 
As you know, federal law1 and DFCS policy2 require the agency to (1) identify and 
implement services for children for whom there’s reasonable cause to believe are at risk 
of being sex trafficking victims and (2) implement specific protocols for “expeditiously 
locating any child missing from care,” screen recovered runaways for sex trafficking, and 
to the extent possible respond to the reasons for the run in subsequent placements.   
 
DFCS is also required to report immediately information on missing or abducted 
children or youth to law enforcement for entry into NCIC and to the National Center for 
Missing and Exploited Children.3 
 
It is important to note that, under federal law, these requirements extend to children 
between 18 and 21 years of age who remain in care or who are receiving independent 
living program services.   
 
Pursuant to the law and policy, DFCS is required to take the following steps when a child 
is missing from foster care: 

1. File a missing persons report on the child; 
2. Activate a protective services alert in SHINES; 

                                                   
1 42 USC §671 (a)(9), (a)(35) 
2 DFCS policy 19.22 
3 42 USC § 671 (a)(35)(B). 
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3. Notify the juvenile court within two days of the child’s disappearance by filing a 
runaway report that includes details on efforts to locate the child; 

4. Notify within two business days the child’s school, probation officers, and service 
providers; 

5. Contact the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children to report the 
child missing;  

6. Conduct a comprehensive search for the child, at a minimum staffing the matter 
every 90 days. 

 
DFCS Policy specifically states:   
 

When child in foster care is missing, DFCS maintains responsibility to 
conduct a comprehensive search to locate the child and ensure their safety 
and well-being. Missing children are extremely vulnerable and could be in a 
dangerous situation. Moreover, the issues that brought the children into care 
need to be adequately addressed with the parent/caregiver before DFCS 
intervention is concluded, regardless of the location of the child. DFCS does 
not seek to be relieved of custody based on the child being missing. 
(emphasis added). 
 
 

Despite this policy and federal law, OCA has encountered a number of recent cases in 
which the agency has not fully complied with policy and/or law.  We therefore would 
encourage juvenile court judges to consider requiring the agency to take steps to ensure 
compliance.   We have created a recommended standing order on this issue for your 
consideration and would appreciate your circulating it to your colleagues. 
 
Thank you so much for all that you do. 
 
Regards, 
 
 
 
 
Tom C. Rawlings 
Director 
Office of the Child Advocate 
 
Cc: Hon. Eric John, Director, CJCJ 
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IN THE JUVENILE COURT OF ___________ COUNTY 
STATE OF GEORGIA 

 
In Re:     * 
      * 
Standing Order on    * 
Children Missing from    * 
Care      * 
 
 
 

 The Court hereby adopts the following Standing Order, which shall apply 

beginning on the date entered to: 

 (1) All children who have been adjudicated dependent or as children in need 

of services (CHINS) by this Court and who are in the custody of the Georgia Division of 

Family and Children Services (DFCS); 

 (2) All children who are in the temporary custody of DFCS by order of this 

court pending adjudication and disposition of a dependency or CHINS case; and 

 (3) All youth who are subject to this court’s case review jurisdiction by reason 

of their remaining in extended foster care with DFCS beyond the age of 18. 

-1- 

 DFCS shall report to the court the name, case number, and known circumstances 

of any child or youth covered by this order who has left his or her placement without 

permission.  Said notification shall be made in the form of a juvenile complaint (JUV-1), 

which shall be filed with the Court no later than 48 hours after the child’s 

disappearance, non-business hours excluded.  A copy of the complaint shall be delivered 

to the child’s or youth’s attorney, the child or youth’s guardian ad litem and/or CASA, 

the attorney for the parent(s), and the attorney for the agency (SAAG).  Said complaint 

shall include the following specific facts to the extent known: 
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a) The name, date of birth, and dependency case number of the child or youth; 

b) The name and location of the placement from which the child or youth ran away 

or was taken; 

c) Details regarding the agency’s prior and ongoing efforts to find the child or youth; 

d) Information regarding any person with whom the child or youth is believed to 

have left the placement; 

e) Information regarding the child’s or youth’s susceptibility to sex trafficking or 

exploitation, including but not limited to details regarding any medical diagnoses 

or cognitive disabilities the child may have; the child’s record of being exploited; 

and any statements the child may have made; and 

f) An affirmation that DFCS has filed a missing persons report with (1) law 

enforcement in both the county of placement and the county of the child’s 

residence; and (2) the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children.  Said 

affirmation should include details of the report. 

-2- 

 If the child or youth is not recovered or returned to care within 5 business days of 

the filing of the complaint, DFCS shall take the following actions: 

a) file a CHINS petition with the court regarding any missing child under the age of 

18; 

b) for any youth in extended foster care, file a motion requesting a court review of 

the youth’s situation. 

-3- 

 When a child in the custody of DFCS is missing from care, DFCS shall not file any 

petition to be discharged from custody of a child, nor any motion to dismiss any 
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dependency or CHINS petition regarding such child, unless the following conditions are 

met, which conditions must be alleged in the petition: 

a) Reasonable grounds exist to believe the child is living in the community with 

relatives or friends; 

b) No reasonable grounds exist to believe the child is currently suffering from 

substance abuse issues; has a significant mental health disorder; or is at risk of 

sexual exploitation or human trafficking; and 

c) The agency can demonstrate its diligent efforts to find the child made continually 

over a period of at least six months with no success.  Diligent efforts should 

include, at a minimum, all of the steps required by DFCS Policy 19.22. 

SO ORDERED THIS THE ___ DAY OF __________________, 2017. 

 
     ____________________ 
     Judge, _______ Juvenile Court 
 

 

 

 


